An amazing week in Cornwall

Last week I headed down to Cornwall on a mercy mission. My daughter, Ellie, was going in for an op and needed someone to be around when she came out of hospital as she was advised that she shouldn’t be alone.  Half way through my 12 hour coach journey I got a message from Ellie to say her op had been cancelled due to someone needing emergency surgery. Too late to turn back then so I ended up having a week in Cornwall with Ellie’s car and no sick bed duties. Ellie was at work most days so I had time to go visiting, coming back Truro for the evenings.

My first port of call was to St Just to visit Sue and Chris where I got a warm welcome from our old cat Lucy who moved in with Sue when we moved aboard Ewn Ha Cul. I don’t think Lucy remembered me, she’s just a cat who loves to be loved – regardless of who’s doing the loving. She had a stroke 8 months ago but, while being a little one sided, she’s recovered amazingly considering her great age.

LucyLoo

The next day was spent visiting Tom and Nicola and their lovely little boy Finlay. Fin was at the nursery when I arrived so, as it was such a beautiful day, we went to the C Bay restaurant overlooking Crantock Bay for lunch, a catch up…….

NickTomCrantock

….and of course to admire the amazing view.

CrantockBay

Back at their house Finlay was retrieved from nursery and I had a great time watching him playing with his dad.

Juggling

He’s a little dynamo and it proved difficult to get a photograph of him that wasn’t blurred.

Finlay1As I was putting on my shoes ready to leave I managed to get one clear photograph of him. He really is a delightful little boy!

Finlay2

Last Thursday I headed to Hayle, where I lived when I first moved to Cornwall in 1977. I got a chance to visit my mate Brian who, along with his then wife Jane (who now runs the amazing Jane’s Teas from her narrowboat Flower on the Oxford Canal), rented us our first home in Cornwall – a little chalet on Hayle Towans. It was called Atlantis back then and was bright yellow. Other than the colour, and the patio doors, it doesn’t seem to have changed much.

Atlantis

My next stop was to visit Helen who lives close to Hayle beach. It was far too good a day to stay in so we headed off for a paddle.

SelfiewithHelen    Helen

It’s difficult to imagine anywhere better to be on a day like this with views out over St Ives Bay….

StIvesBay

….and across to the lighthouse at Godrevy.

Godrevy

So far, due to the fact that I was driving, all my visits had been ‘dry’. The odd cup of tea was all I could manage. That changed on Friday, when I stayed the night at Lynwood with Annie. I hadn’t really had a chance to spend any ‘quality’ time with her since the wake for her husband Eugene last autumn and it was great to catch up. After G & Ts by the pool, Annie made a lovely dinner and she, Claire and I had a rather alcoholic evening! Claire had to catch the bus home at 11pm, but Annie and I carried on until the wee small hours, solving the problems of the world (or so we thought anyway).

ClaireMeAnnie G&T by the pool

The next morning, in a rather jaded state, I woke up to this wonderful view out of the bedroom window.

BedroomView

It took several cups of tea, a bowl of cereal and an hour or two’s chat for me to be sure that I was safe to drive back to Truro.

Sunday was my last day in Cornwall and Ellie and I had a lovely lazy morning, lunched at Wetherspoons and headed off, joined by our friend Roger to see the Philharmonia Orchestra play in a marquee on Lemon Quay as part of the  iOrchestra event. They played a wonderful range of music, finishing off, to everyone’s delight, with the theme from Thunderbirds.

From there we headed to Truro Cathedral where we waited in line to see the world premiere performance of the Online Orchestra.  Three groups of musicians in three separate locations, with the conductor in a fourth location, playing music together. The choir and string section were in the Cathedral, the flute section was in the Five Islands School on the Isles of Scilly, the brass section was in Mullion School on the Lizard Peninsula and the conductor was in Falmouth Art College. Stunning!

TruroCathedral

I didn’t manage to achieve what I went down to Cornwall for but I did have an incredible time. Not that she’ll read this but – thank you Ellie for your hospitality, the use of your car, the lovely girly nail varnish sessions and the great meals you cooked. It’s such a shame that the reason I was able to have quite such a good time was that your op was cancelled!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

